RSS

My top 5 tips for teaching maths

29 Apr

1. Students who are succesful in maths enjoy maths.

Wait, that’s not a tip I hear you say. Well actually it is. As teachers it is our job to make sure that students can be succesful with their maths. When a student leaves a class feeling that they’ve learnt something they generally feel they enjoyed it. Always set goals (I don’t like to use the words objectives and outcomes) that students can achieve. They may not achieve the very challenging ones but some will.

2. What would you do if you did understand?

The words I hate to hear – “I don’t get it” or “I don’t know what to do”. I now always reply with “What would you do if you did?”. Amazing when a child can answer that question and realises that they do get it.

3. I learn more when I teach.

That is true for me. My understanding of maths has improved so much when I’ve had to teach it. Give students the opportunity to teach others. A win, win situation. Less work for the teacher, better understanding from those teaching and better understanding from those being taught by peers.

4. Games.

Yeah, I know this one is always given but playing games like bingo, quizzes, answer races and things like that really do students have fun in what they are doing. Click here for 5 free bingo games: http://www.peacockmaths.co.uk/free-bingo-games

5. I can do maths, I like it and I’m proud of that.

How often do students hear that parents, friends and sometimes teachers were never very good at maths. Be proud that you can do it. Be proud that you enjoy maths for its own sake.

Please, please, please feel free to add your tips to the blog.

Stephen

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Teaching

 

One response to “My top 5 tips for teaching maths

  1. shumaila chaudhary

    June 18, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    excellent tips.thankyou dear

     

Leave a Reply

 
